Dail convention for Donegal North-East

I was last night formally selected as the Labour Party candidate for Donegal North-East. It is a great feeling and I’m hugely looking forward to the challenge ahead.

At a largely attended meeting in Letterkenny, I was officially ratified as the party’s representative in the upcoming General Election. The meeting was chaired by Labour’s Alan Kelly MEP, who wished me well in my endevours and pledged his own support for my campaign. Alan, who is a member of Agriculture and Rural Development Committee – a key European Parliament Committee – also met with numerous local farming representatives and groups prior to the meeting, who expressed their concerns about the depletion of the farming industry in Donegal in recent years.

As I told delegates and branch members who were present, this election will define a generation. The time has come for honest politics and strong representation at Dail level in Donegal North-East. Too much is at stake, and as the Labour Party candidate for the constituency, I am dedicated to being part of Eamon Gilmore’s team in the next Government where I believe I can effect genuine change at local and national level.

It is clear that Labour are gaining momentum in Donegal now. The consistently high showing in the polls of Eamon Gilmore, coupled with a palpable demand for change among the public, shows that the Labour Party’s message is resonating with people on the ground in Donegal. It is now a three-horse race and I look forward to the challenge ahead.

Stay tuned for more details of campaign launch.

About Senator Jimmy Harte

I am a Labour Party Senator based in Donegal North-East and a public representative for the last 16 years. I represented Letterkenny Town Council and Donegal County Council until 28th April 2011 when I was elected to the Senate I attended St Eunan's College in Letterkenny and UCD (Dublin) where I studied psychology to BA level. I also played soccer with UCD first team. I live in Letterkenny and own Harte Insurances which I set up at the age of 24. We have two offices, Letterkenny and Raphoe.
This entry was posted in Donegal Events, Local Community News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.