State foots €36m bill to ‘repatriate’ illegal waste from North

Coat of arms of County Donegal

Image via Wikipedia

THE Government is to spend in excess of €36 million to “repatriate” 250,000 tonnes of Irish household and commercial waste illegally dumped in Northern Ireland.

The first consignments of waste will be removed this morning from an illegal dump in Fermanagh to an approved landfill facility in Ballintra.

I spoke with Philip Boucher-Hayes on RTE’s Drivetime programme on RTE Radio 1 on Tuesday about this issue from a Donegal perspective. It shows how much illegal dumping went on in the country and the cost to the taxpayer. Fortunately there is no direct cost to Donegal County Council but it will impact probably on the Local Government Fund and we might end up getting less from central government in the future.

I made the point that Donegal was no worse than other areas and I wouldnt want us to get a name for the dumping ground for illegal waste. Also the waste is non-hazardous, but still is waste we didnt create here and people made a lot of money on the back of it, illegally.

About Senator Jimmy Harte

I am a Labour Party Senator based in Donegal North-East and a public representative for the last 16 years. I represented Letterkenny Town Council and Donegal County Council until 28th April 2011 when I was elected to the Senate I attended St Eunan's College in Letterkenny and UCD (Dublin) where I studied psychology to BA level. I also played soccer with UCD first team. I live in Letterkenny and own Harte Insurances which I set up at the age of 24. We have two offices, Letterkenny and Raphoe.
This entry was posted in County Council Issues, Local Community News and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.